Print This Page

 Major Groups | Crustacea (crustaceans) | Malacostraca (malacostracans) | Amphipoda (sideswimmers) | Chiltoniidae


Major Group: Crustacea
Minor Group: Malacostraca
Order: Amphipoda
Family: Chiltoniidae (formerly Hyalidae, formerly in Ceinidae)

Descriptive Features:

  • head deeply excavate
  • body smooth
  • antenna 1 accessory flagellum absent
  • pereopod 3 carpus shorter than propodus
  • pereopod 4 coxa, with well-developed posteroventral lobe
  • pereopod 5 coxa, with ventrally produced posterior lobe, carpus expanded or weakly expanded
  • telson weakly thickened dorsoventrally or thickened dorsoventrally
  • females smaller than males
  • Total length: up to 10 mm

    Austrochiltonia sp.


    Austrochiltonia sp., female with eggs

    Taxonomic Checklist: Species
    Arabunnachiltonia murphyi
    Austrochiltonia australis Sayce
    Austrochiltonia clydensis King & Leys
    Austrochiltonia cooperi King & Leys
    Austrochiltonia dalhousiensis Zeidler
    Austrochiltonia subtenuis Sayce
    Phreatochiltonia anopthalma Zeidler
    Wangiannachiltonia guzikae King

    Distribution: NSW, SA, Vic, WA, Tas

    Sensitivity Rating: SIGNAL grade 2. Some Austrochiltonia species are euryhaline, tolerating saline water up to 30%.

    Functional Feeding Group: shredders


    Campaspe River, The Rocks Vic

    Ecology: Instream habitat: Hyalidae are shallow water species occurring in springs and littoral areas of lotic waters. They are found amongst algae, sedges or reeds.
    Feeding ecology: Hyalid side swimmers feed on algae.
    Life history: Females may carry eggs in a brood pouch.


    Information Sources: King & Leys 2011, Lowry & Stoddart  2003, King & Bradbury 2012, Zeidler 1997, Cummins et al. 2005
    Key to Genera: King & Bradbury 2012
    Key to Species: King & Leys 2011, King & Bradbury 2012 (same key) These keys do "not include all Australian chiltoniid species. Currently the key is only useful to identify the freshwater surface species from Tasmania, Victoria and South Australia (but not including Kangaroo Island and Eyre Penisular)."