Follow UsFollow UsFollow Us
Home »

Honours Scholarships

  Honours Scholarships

The Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre (MDFRC) in association with The Murray-Darling Basin Authority (on behalf of the joint governments) is committed to the generation and adoption of freshwater ecological knowledge to inform decision making.

The MDFRC and MDBA Collaboration Partnership (MMCP) invites applications for students to receive one of three available scholarships, who are undertaking research on the ecology and biogeochemistry of floodplain rivers and wetlands. Research themes that are considered within scope for consideration include:

  • Plant ecology
  • Floodplain fish ecology
  • Food web ecology
  • Invasive aquatic species

Applicants must be enrolled or in the process for applying through La Trobe University for the Honours Program, details at


Through La Trobe University the MMCP will provide an Honours scholarship to successful applicants to the value of $6,000 ($4,000 stipend + $2,000 operating). These scholarships will be selected based on the students undergraduate course Weighted Average Mark (WAM) and the relevance of Honours project to the MMCP. Honours students will be supervised/co-supervised by MMCP researchers and will undertake a research project aligned with the objectives of the MMCP.

How to apply

Students can contact Dr Daryl Nielsen P: 02 6024 9650 to discuss potential projects and relevant supervisors.

Applications must include the following:

  • Cover letter outlining main scientific interest with at least one academic referee
  • Curriculum vitae including academic transcript

Applications must be e–mailed to

Please note - MDFRC may reject applications that do not meet the above requirements. Incomplete applications will NOT be accepted without prior discussion with MDFRC staff.

Closing date

Applications close 26rd January 2018.

Contact us

For further information, please contact: Dr Daryl Nielsen, Principal Research Scientist, Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre ( or on (02) 6024 9650

Supplementary information

These positions will be based at The Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre (MDFRC) at either the Albury-Wodonga or Mildura campuses of La Trobe University.

MDFRC specialises in the ecology of rivers and wetlands within the Murray-Darling basin. For more information see:



DOCXMMCP Information for Honours 2018 Scholarship (1041 KB)

PDFMDFRC Research Staff (797 KB)