Follow UsFollow UsFollow Us

The Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre new Board of Management


Director at The Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre (MDFRC), Dr Ben Gawne, is pleased to introduce new faces on the MDFRC Board of Management. After a remarkable term of over 25 years as Chair of the Board, esteemed leader in water reform management, Professor John Langford recently resigned his post with the Centre and handed over to new Chair, Professor Jane Doolan.  Professor Doolan takes up the new appointment in time to steer the centre into a new five year agreement with MDFRC joint venture partners La Trobe University and CSIRO.

Chair of the Board - Professor Jane Doolan

Jane Doolan is currently a Professorial Fellow in Natural Resource Governance at the University of Canberra and a Commissioner with the National Water Commission. Prior to this, she was the Deputy Secretary for Water in the Victorian Department of Environment and Primary Industries. She has more than 25 years’ experience in sustainable water resource management, providing policy advice on issues such as urban and rural water supply and security, national water reform, river health, environmental water allocation and catchment management and the management of water during drought and climate change. Her career encompasses intergovernmental policy development and negotiations, particularly in relation to the management of the Murray–Darling Basin and the oversight of major water projects and programs. A strong focus throughout her career has been the integration of advanced science with water policy and management. Professor Doolan is also a Director of Western Water Authority.

Professor Keith Nugent – La Trobe University  

Professor Keith Nugent commenced at La Trobe University in January, 2013. He holds an Honours degree in physics from the University of Adelaide and a PhD in laser physics from the Australian National University. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society. Prior to joining La Trobe University, Professor Nugent was Director of the Australian Synchrotron, Laureate Professor of Physics at the University of Melbourne and Research Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Coherent X-ray Science, a multiple-institution centre which undertook research at the interface of physics, biology and chemistry. Professor Nugent has previously been both an Assistant Vice-Chancellor and Head, School of Physics at the University of Melbourne. He was twice awarded an ARC Federation Fellowship. He was a recipient of the 2004 Victoria Prize as well as the Pawsey Medal from the Australian Academy of Science (1989), the Edgeworth-David Medal from the Royal Society of NSW (1993) and the Boas Medal from the Australian Institute of Physics (1997). He has received two R&D100 awards for innovation (1988 & 2001). He was awarded a Centenary Medal for services to science in 2003. Professor Nugent has served on a number of boards including for the company IATIA Ltd and the Australian Synchrotron Company (ASCo).

Dr Ian Cresswell  – CSIRO

Dr Ian Cresswell is the Research Director of the Biodiversity, Ecosystem Knowledge and Services Program in CSIRO’s Land and Water Flagship. Dr Cresswell has extensive experience working in environment and sustainable development both nationally and internationally in several different areas, including marine planning, fisheries, wildlife regulation, cetacean policy and research, protected areas and biodiversity discovery. He has a long history of working in environmental science and policy, including previously holding the position of Director of the Australian Biological Resources Study, charged with documenting and discovering Australia’s biodiversity.